Lemon Buttermilk Ice Cream


It’s over 100 degrees outside, and I’m in a foul mood. Things I want to do include:

1. Sit in the fridge (it’s too full)
2. Sit in the freezer (it’s too small)
3. Cry in frustration (I can’t afford to waste the water or electrolytes)
4. Eat cold things.

This, I can do something about.

More importantly, with all the beneficial properties of lemons, and the live cultures in the buttermilk, this most definitely counts as medicinal. At least that’s what I’m telling myself…

Lemon-buttermilk ice cream.

zest of 5 lemons
1/3 cup lemon juice
1/2 cup maple syrup
4 egg yolks
2 cups cream
1 cup buttermilk

In a heavy-bottomed saucepan, combine the cream and maple syrup. Stir, over medium heat, until it comes to the boil*, then remove from heat. Whisk the egg yolks in a bowl, and ladle in a big dollop of the boiled cream. Whisking constantly, start to incorporate the egg-mixture back into the saucepan. Return the heat, and stir constantly until the mixture thickens, then strain through a sieve into a bowl.

Combine the buttermilk, lemon juice and lemon rind and stir into the custard.

Allow to cool COMPLETELY, then follow the instructions on your ice cream maker to freeze.

*If using raw milk, don’t let it boil

This post is a part of Real Food Wednesday, and Pennywise Platter Thursday

Comments
6 Responses to “Lemon Buttermilk Ice Cream”
  1. Tara says:

    That looks divine. What type of buttermilk do you use? I just made fresh cream butter yesterday (actually made it into a compound, yum!) and am left with about a third galloon of buttermilk. What to do with it??

    • fairybekk says:

      This time, I just used regular old Organic Pastures– I had it on hand from making a buttermilk cake a few weeks ago, and some craime fraiche yesterday.

      Let me know how you like the ice cream, if you try it :).

  2. Sorry about the heatwave 😦 Can you believe that I haven’t made ice cream all summer long! I have an old fashioned ice cream maker, not hand-cranked, but electric and requiring ice and salt. It makes so much noise, and a big mess, and I’m always the one who gets to clean up messes. We’ve been in talks to make ice cream for my absolute favorite holiday ever ever ever (Halloween!). I can’t remember the other flavors suggested because I’ve decided that I like nut ice creams most of all and want black walnut maple ice cream, and since I’m the mess cleaner upper, I win that debate. Aren’t I fun to live with? But I could see going for lemon buttermilk because I like tangy things. What kind of ice cream maker do you use?

  3. Ok! Got my ingredients rounded up and I’m ready to make it. The photo makes it look just divine. Might need a movie to go with it 😉

Leave a Reply

