Check yo’self

I was trying to think of all kinds of cool slang puns to do with fools. Like ‘check yo’self fool’ and ‘what’s happening fool’ and ‘whatchoo talkin’ about fool’. And then I remembered one day when I was hanging out with my brother and all his friends, and one of them said “that’s dope”, and I said “yeah, that’s dope” thinking that I would try out this slang thing. Except the whole room went quiet and everyone turned and looked at me while my brother said “did you just say that?” I guess my Scottish accent and grammar-nazi status make slang sound ridiculous. So I decided not to embarrass myself again and will talk about blackberries instead.

This past weekend was the Jewish holiday, Yom Kippur. A day of fasting. When I was young, on Yom Kippur we’d walk to synagogue– everyone did really, as September in Glasgow is usually still sunny, and you take advantage of these things when it rains most of the year. On the way to synagogue were these blackberry bushes. It was my favourite part about the whole thing actually, I’d lag behind and gather as many blackberries as I could. I’d stuff them in my pockets until they were filled to the brim. And then, when we were sitting in synagogue, listening to the services that seemed to go on forever, surrounded by people who were fasting and hungry, I’d wander up to the very back row of seats behind where all of the other kids my age would sit and chat, and one by one, letting them pop in my mouth, I’d eat my blackberries, still warm from the sun.

A fool is one of the simplest desserts you can make. The whole thing, from start to finish, including clean-up, took me less than 15 minutes, while my fish was in the oven. And it’s delicious, did I mention that? It’s creamy and fluffy and explodes in your mouth in a combination of honey and berries and reminds you of why summers are so good. And why berries are so good. And why rebellion always makes things taste that much better. For extra effect, declare yourself to be on a diet, and THEN eat it…

Blackberry fool, erm, fool.

serves 4

8oz blackberries

5 tb honey

8oz raw cream

1tsp vanilla

pinch of salt

Using a blender, or a food processor, blend together the blackberries, the honey, the salt and the vanilla. In a big bowl, whip the cream until it forms stiff peaks. Fold in the blackberry mixture gently, and spoon into individual serving dishes. Pop them in the freezer to firm up a bit, and serve after 30 minutes.

Comments
12 Responses to “Check yo’self”
  1. Melynda says:

    Love fool desserts, thanks so much for sharing at the hop.

  2. girlichef says:

    Too hilarious…I can just hear the crickets chirping when you said that was dope…. ha ha ha ha. This looks so airy and creamy. That’s it. I’m officially on a diet. …now where’s my fool!? 😉 I love the pic of the berries and flowers with your toes peeking out…

  3. Adrienne says:

    Yum! I’ve never heard of a ‘fool’ before! I might have to make some! Looks delish. I love how the berries are sweetened with honey. Thanks for linking up with H&S! 🙂

  4. Bonnie says:

    What a beautiful dessert. I am a “fool” for blackberries. Love your presentation of it in the canning jar.

  5. That looks just divine – I will be making this as soon as summer rolls around here for sure. Also love those little jars you served it in – just gorgeous.
    Sue

  6. Wow, it is surprisingly difficult to suppress the urge to make a fool joke, isn’t it? But it’s not hard at all to suppress the urge to whip up a sweet like this. I picked some solomonplume berries the other day, which were sort of dehydrated from being so late in the season, and I was looking at them in my palm, and knew that what they really needed was cream. Errr….argh… oh, I want so badly to make the obvious Mr. T fool joke. Thanks for sharing this with Hearth and Soul.

    • fairybekk says:

      Let me know if you try it with the wild berries…. sounds even more delicious. I bet an elder fool would be fabby. Plus then it’s an old fool, which is kinda awesome on its own….

  7. Christy says:

    I’ll go ahead and say it “I pity the fool who doesn’t go on a diet and try this fool!” bwahaha I am so funny. Not. LOL. This looks so delicious! And easy, I love easy! Thanks for sharing this with us at hearth’nsoul!!

  8. LOL Bekka! I had no clue you were a scottswoman! I learn new things every time I read your blog! I have friends in Dumfermline and Edinborough. I want to go to Scotland so badly! This dessert would make me a fool for berries! 😉 Thanks for linking to the hearth n soul hop! 🙂 HUGS! Alex@amoderatelife

    • fairybekk says:

      This went to my spam queue too!! Ugh!! Oh man, I’m from Glasgow, which is close-ish to both….

      Hugs right back atcha 🙂

  9. Christy says:

    Hi fairybekk!
    I highlighted this in a linky love post!
    http://bit.ly/dtH1eG
    thanks again!

Leave a Reply

