Karla’s Birthday Cake

It was my favourite neighbour’s birthday on Friday.

I (with the help of her lovely daughter, Charlotte) made her a flourless chocolate cake, from David Lebovitz’ Ready for Dessert.

This cake is rich and decadent. It’s thick and it sticks to your spoon, almost like a cooked chocolate mousse. We paired it with ice cream, but I think it would be even better with plain old whipped cream.

Flourless Chocolate Cake

10 oz bittersweet chocolate, in pieces

1/2 cup (4oz) salted butter

1 tb espresso (I used 1tb coffee substitute)

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

6 large eggs, separated

1/4 cup sugar

2 tb cacao nibs (I didn’t use them because Karla hates chocolate chips of any kind)

Powdered sugar for dusting

Cocoa, for dusting the pan

Preheat the oven to 350. Butter a 9-inch springform pan, and then dust with cocoa.

In a double boiler (a large bowl set over some simmering water), combine the chocolate, butter, sugar, vanilla, and espresso, until melted and smooth. Keep an eye on it because it can separate if left on too long.

Whip the egg whites into soft peaks.

Whip together the egg yolks, until light and creamy. Fold into the chocolate mixture until fully incorporated.

Add half the egg whites, folding in until fully mixed, then the rest, folding until the white streaks are no longer visible, but not any more than that (keep as much air in there as possible!).

Pour into the pan, and sprinkle with cacao nibs. Bake for 25 minutes or so, until it feels barely set in the middle. Remove from the oven and allow to cool fully before removing from the pan and serving.

Comments
4 Responses to “Karla’s Birthday Cake”
  1. Lorrie says:

    Well, I was just talking with someone only a couple of days ago about what actually was in a flourless cake. So, thank you for tuning into that and posting this! I have a question on the cocoa nibs: I have a bag of raw cocoa beans, is that the same thing or can it be used the same way in this recipe if I chop them up a little perhaps?

    Thanks!

    • fairybekk says:

      Hey Lorrie ๐Ÿ™‚
      Yeah, raw cocoa beans are the same– put them in a blender or chop them up it’s the exact same thing.
      Let me know how it goes if you make it!

  2. I think I’d eat it with a puddle of heavy cream, you know something to offset all of that richness ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Lorrie says:

    This came out great, so moist and rich and the cocoa nibs are a great addition. I also tried a vegan version as we have a vegan in the house. I used vegan versions of the ingredients and egg replacer that I whipped up as much as I could and then added cream of tartar to try and get it to hold its volume. It didn’t quite work: it came out like a really fudgy brownie, still pretty good though. I’ve since learned that there is a vegan meringue product available. I’ll probably try that next time. Thanks for the recipe.

Leave a Reply

