The best brownies I’ve ever had.

These are serious brownies.

They’re not low-carb. Or fermented. Or remotely healthy, unless you count the bioflavanoids in the serious amount of chocolate you’ve got here… but really, who am I kidding. Nobody eats brownies because they need to make their diet healthier. People eat brownies because they’re delicious. Me included.

When I say that these are the best brownies I’ve ever had, I have a bit of authority to say that. You see I used to work at a little cafe that had the best brownies in the world. Every time a new tray would come out the oven, I’d save one of the gooey middle pieces for myself. And then on my break I’d sneak off and eat it, and spend the rest of my shift in a sugar coma. These were the best brownies I’d ever had. The recipe was a closely guarded secret, as were the other dessert bars that were also something close to heavenly. I tried to find it, I tried to trick it out of my boss, I tried to coax it out of my boss. I guess she was used to that kind of behaviour because she didn’t give in to my charms. I am still confused about this failure.

When I moved away, I sank into a deep depression– a brownie-less depression. One that I saw no way out of, until I decided that I was going to make a better brownie. It was the only way for me to get over the old ones. Over the course of the last few years, I’ve sampled dozens of brownies. Over a hundred, possibly. Some were better than others. Some, upon tweaking came slightly close. But none were better. Until now.

And when I took a bite of this, I was thrown back into a memory: when I was five I tasted this fudge bar in London. It was like a mixture between a brownie and fudge, and it was stuffed with raisins and nuts. It changed my life. I searched far and wide for something similar, but not even knowing what to call it, I gave up, and the memory of that nutty fudgy deliciousness slipped back into the recesses of my mind, relegated to the realm of fantasy along with handsome princes and Scotland ever winning the World Cup.

If you’re in the ‘cakey brownie’ camp, then I apologise– these aren’t for you. If you’re in the fudgy brownie camp, then walk, no run, to the store and get the ingredients and make these please. And if you’re in the gooey brownie camp, as I usually am, then you might be able to make an exception. You’ll thank me later, I’m sure of it.

And I hope Dorie Greenspan doesn’t mind me reprinting her recipe here…

Quintuple Chocolate Brownies. From Dorie Greenspan.

1/2 cup flour (I use sprouted wheat, but you can use whatever you want)

1/4 cup cocoa powder

1/2 tsp salt

8 tb unsalted butter

3 oz unsweetened chocolate, chopped

3 oz bittersweet chocolate, chopped

2 tb strong coffee (I use coffee substitute because I don’t want to be up all night after a late night brownie attack)

1 cup sucanat

3 eggs

1 tsp vanilla

6 oz milk chocolate (I use Green and Black’s)

1 cup chopped nuts (cashews and almonds)

1/2 cup raisins

For the Glaze:

6 oz white chocolate, chopped (I use Green and Black’s)

1/3 cup heavy cream

Preheat oven to 325, and heavily butter a 9 inch square baking pan.

Set up a bowl over a pan of simmering water (a double boiler) and add the butter, unsweetened chocolate, bittersweet chocolate, and coffee. Stir occasionally, until all are just melted.

Remove from heat, beat in the sugar.

Stir in the eggs and vanilla, one by one.

Gently stir in the flour and cocoa, and then finally add the milk chocolate chips, and the nuts and raisins.

Pour into the baking pan, and cook for 30-35 minutes, until a knife comes out streaked (but not with a thick layer).

Remove from the oven and let the brownies rest for 30 minutes, or until mostly cooled.

Put the white chocolate in a bowl. Bring the cream to a boil in a saucepan, and then immediately pour over the white chocolate. Gently stir the two together, until they make a smooth glaze, then pour the entire mixture over the top of the brownies, spreading it to make an even coat.

At which point I put the whole thing in the freezer to cool faster. If you can wait, refrigerate them until they’re cooled, and then cut into 16 squares.

Comments
9 Responses to “The best brownies I’ve ever had.”
  1. Geni says:

    Holy moly!!! I am in a sugar coma just reading about them. I am running, no driving quickly to the store for the ingredients! I have a new baking blog and love new visitors if you have time to stop by.

  2. Oh my goodness! These looks sooo delicious! I will book mark this recipe.

    ~Tiffany =-)

  3. These do look good, but I think they more closely resemble fudge. I encourage you to try my coconut flour brownie recipe, they are REALLY good.

  4. Mmm, a love a good sweet memory. And I love that milk glass. Where did you get it?

  5. Naomi says:

    Wow. I just made these brownies. they are the most delicious thing I have ever tried. I’ll be sure to make them again. and again. and again. Thank you so much for posting this recipe!

    • fairybekk says:

      I’m so glad you liked them! They really are amazing… my neighbours keep requesting them to come around more often.
      Thanks for stopping by :).

  6. harmonie22 says:

    Oh, YUMMY! Just what I don’t need :))

    PS this is Mandy

Leave a Reply

