Grilled Salmon with Salsa Verde

I moved to this tiny little studio apartment a few years ago. And one of the few things I toted along with me was my little charcoal grill. It was quite silly, looking back, as they’re super cheap to come by, but I loved it, and I moved it to quite a few places. Even into the winter (yes, Los Angeles still has winters!!!), I’d wrap up warm, and stand outside my back door on my little patio that looked out over LA harbour, and throw a beet in tin foil in the coals, and grill up some meat and veggies. It just made me happy. Like I was connecting with something primal even surrounded by bright lights and stray cats. Maybe it was that rebellious streak acting up again, who knows… but I still love it.

When I moved in with Jam there was already a grill in the back garden. A gas grill. It might sound strange, because now I know how to use it, it’s decidedly easier than charcoal, but it intimidated the hell out of me. Fires, I can build. Gas taps and holding matches near gas outlets that are usually covered with spider webs and stuff like that just gives me the heeby-jeebies. I was obviously a Luddite in a past life because I’d also rather ride horses everywhere, and not have lights on once it’s dark, and kill my own food, and exterminate all televisions, and forage for everything if I could. Ok actually I sound a bit more like a cavewoman than a Luddite. Except I shave my legs: point modernity.

The other day I got so sick of not-grilling that I threatened to march off to Home Depot (in my non-horse) and find a new, cheap charcoal grill. Jamie pointed out that he actually prefers them too, and if I can hold back my impatience a couple more weeks, then maybe we can go and find one together*. In the meantime, I can learn how to use the gas grill. And I did. And after about six attempts at lighting it, I succeeded, without blowing anyone up. Without a single spider bite. And without singing my eyebrows off which is embarrasingly the real reason that they scare me so much (don’t tell anyone). *ahem*

I survived, and I’m still not a convert, but it’s awfully convenient, that’s for sure…

Grilled Salmon with Salsa Verde

serves 2

2 pieces salmon

1/2 bunch cilantro

1/2 bunch parsley

3 chili peppers

4 cloves garlic

1/4 cup lemon juice

1/4 cup olive oil

1/2 tsp salt

About 1 1/2 hours before you want to eat, get the marinade ready:

Chop up all the cilantro, parsley, garlic and peppers finely. I leave the pepper seeds in because I like things spicy, if you don’t, then remove the seeds by slitting the pepper lengthwise and scraping them out, before chopping. Place in a bowl, add the lemon juice, olive oil and salt. Mix together, then throw in the salmon. Marinade it for about an hour and a half, then remove and cook:

On a medium-cool grill, place the fish face down for about 5 minutes, until it gets a couple of nice looking grill marks, then turn over and grill for another 7-8 minutes until barely cooked through.

To serve: Stir the marinade, and spoon over the cooked salmon. Serve with a big salad, and have some grilled peaches with ice cream for dessert ;).

*By the way, I can’t afford it, but how AWESOME IS THIS GRILL!?!?!?!:

Comments
3 Responses to “Grilled Salmon with Salsa Verde”
  1. This looks positively heavenly! The peaches makes it so light for the summer!

    Would love it if you would consider sharing this post or another of your insightful blogs at Monday Mania. Hope to see you there!

  2. I still use charcoal. I love the taste, I love the fire and coal, but it takes soooo long start to finish. Propane might be nice. I was hoping someone would want to unload their older model gas grill on me when they upgraded last spring, but it didn’t work out. Now I’m hoping to find one on summer clearance. Maybe maybe? Some instant gratification might be nice, especially if I had a hunk of salmon like that. Yum.

  3. girlichef says:

    That sounds pretty flippin’ fabulous!! I do love that grill at the bottom…and I TOTALLY prefer charcoal! I actually love grilling in the middle of a midwest winter…snow falling peacefully all around you while you huddle around the grill…the comforting smell (something you just can’t get from propane) of the charcoal/woodchips…the food all warm and delicious in the air…aahhhhh. Almost makes me wish it was winter. Almost. I’ll settle for autumn, though…as I would year round. Sorry. Rambling again.

Leave a Reply

