Gluten free chocolate cupcakes

I think I can safely say that the cupcake craze has swept the entire globe. Except perhaps some very rural areas in Georgia and central Afghanistan, and maybe a few tribes out in the Congo. Other than that, everybody loves cupcakes. Well, almost everybody loves cupcakes. Everybody except those fashionable people who jumped on the bandwagon years ago and have now moved on to macarons or something equally trendy.

But I don’t like macarons. I really don’t. I don’t get what the big deal is. To me, they’re overly sugary, too chewy, flavourless, and not worth the sugar rush.

This morning, while procrastinating my yoga practice, and (very cleverly) thinking ahead to the 230pm emergency tea break, I yelled up to Jam to ask his opinion on whether I should make chocolate cupcakes or chocolate brownies.
He yelled back with a definitive “BROWNIES”…

So I baked the cupcakes.

Ever the obedient wife.

Gluten Free Chocolate Cupcakes,
Adapted from Elana Amsterdam’s already perfect recipe.

You will need:

1/3 cup coconut flour
1/3 cup cocoa powder
1/4 tsp sea salt
1/2 tsp baking soda
3 eggs
1/4 cup melted butter
1/4 cup honey
1/2 tsp vanilla

Method:

Preheat oven to 375.
Beat eggs together in a large bowl.

Melt butter on stove, and when melted, add the honey and vanilla (This helps to incorporate the honey, which otherwise gets all clumpy and difficult. I don’t like difficult.).

Add butter/ honey to egg mixture, and incorporate.

When incorporated, add the rest of the dry ingredients and mix thoroughly. The coconut flour will swell up, so give it a minute before panicking that the proportions are all wrong.

Spoon into cupcake, erm, paper thingies. Bake at 375 for 30 minutes. The cakes should be spongy in the center, but not too firm.

Now I’m off to find a good buttercream frosting recipe… though I think a cream cheese one might compliment the thick dark chocolatey flavour nicely.

Leave a Reply

