Muffins!

When I was ten or so, a new Sainsbury’s opened up on the route that we sometimes took coming home from school. Either that or we detoured on purpose. I’m not sure if things like this are still exciting to grown-ups (though I admit I have gone out of my way to visit a new massive Whole Foods… but after one visit decided that it wasn’t worth the effort and resumed cycling to my local one). Sainsbury’s was exciting to me for three main reasons: 1. It was new. All new things are good. I think this is a by-product of being raised in a consumerism-driven culture… one that’s taking me years to undo, still, sadly, without much success. 2. It had all kinds of cool things, like a play area for children that had those tubes of multicoloured water that had bubbles blowing through them constantly. I was too old for it by quite a few years, but it didn’t stop me from standing at the big window watching all the little kids run around jealously. It also had a cafe, and it didn’t smell bad like a lot of the older supermarkets. 3. And this was the best thing. They had the BEST cherry muffins ever.

Of course, now I’m 6000 miles away from the nearest Sainsbury’s, and, well, my tastes have changed a bit. And since I tend to eat a paleo diet most of the time, when I DO eat something that’s got tons of flour in it, it’s much more likely to be a pie. Because pie rocks my world, no matter how big my world gets. But, no matter how big my world gets, I still love a good muffin. Especially one with cherries in it. These muffins, made with coconut flour and honey are a really good substitute for those of us who try to avoid grains. Good enough that people who DO eat grains regularly still come back for more, which to me, is always an indicator of whether I’m just convincing myself that something is good or not based on my dietary whims*.

Cherry-chocolate chip muffins.
(Adapted from Bruce Fife)

5 eggs

3 1/2 tb butter, melted

2tb milk

3 tb honey

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 tsp vanilla

1/2 cup coconut flour

1/4 tsp baking powder

2 oz chocolate

6 oz frozen pitted cherries

Method:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

1. Beat the eggs in a bowl.

2. Add the honey, butter, milk and vanilla. Incorporate fully.

3. Add the coconut flour. It will expand over the next minute or so.

4. Add the baking powder.

5. Chop the chocolate and cherries up into small-ish pieces (around the size of chocolate chips).

6. Spoon into muffin, erm, paper cup things.

7. Bake at 400 degrees for approximately 35 minutes.

Variations on this theme include the following:

Blueberry muffins (8oz blueberries instead of the chocolate and cherries)

Blueberry lemon muffins (8oz blueberries and the grated rind of one lemon)

Christmas fruitcake muffins (erm, I’ll post that one in another recipe come Christmas time because I can’t remember the measurements)

The list goes on… get creative!

*I am reminded of certain soy-based fake meat patties that, when one hasn’t eaten meat in a long time, taste quite good. Until one eats a real meat patty. The gauge of deliciousness here is to ask a group of meat eaters whether they want a soy burger or a regular burger. Yeah. Thought so. Not delicious at all.

Leave a Reply

