Easy peasy delicious galettes

IMG_4220

Pie is one of my favourite things. It really is. I think, because it falls under the category of “all things stodgy” which means that it also falls under the category of “all things delicious” and “comfort foods”, which makes it a triple threat with regards to plus-points.

As much as I love pie, I love galettes even more. Especially when they’re individual galettes. Like a mini-pie-made-just-for-me (or if you get here in time, for you too).

And, as far as the “healthy scale” goes, it’s not rediculously bad for you*.

I use my pate sucree recipe, which I posted about last week.

Here’s the method–
You need:

1 portion pate sucree

fruit. My favourites are peaches, plums, and berries. You can use seasonal fruit from the farmer’s market, but in a pinch (because this whole recipe, from pastry to putting in the oven takes about 30 minutes max, it’s a really easy thing to throw together for last minute desserts) you can use frozen berries. In fact, I keep my fridge stocked with frozen berries just in case!

METHOD:

Preheat oven to 350F.

Pull off a chunk of pastry, and roll it out into a circle.
Place some fruit in the centre of the circle, and then fold the pastry up around the middle, leaving a hole so that you can see the lovely fruit peeking out.
Repeat for all the galettes you want to use.

For looks and extra sweetness, you can sprinkle the galettes with a coarse sugar before baking. I happen to be a fan of barely-sweet desserts, and the pate sucree combined with the fruit is often just enough sugar for me.

Place on a baking sheet (I use a silpat and keep it on a chopping board until I can throw it in the oven), and freeze (yes freeze) for at least 20 minutes, to cool down the butter in the pastry that’s been rolled and mauled for a while.

Slide the sheet into the oven, and cook for approximately 45 minutes. Check them after half an hour or so, make sure that the crusts are browning nicely. Obviously if they look done before, then pull them out, and if they don’t look done at 45, then leave them in a bit longer. My oven is old and tempermental (I have the burns to prove it!!) so sometimes cooking times vary a little for me.

IMG_4216

*unless you’re doing the primal thing, which I DO do 90% of the time, or 6 days a week, during which pie crusts are the devil, and bacon is my friend.

Comments
One Response to “Easy peasy delicious galettes”
  1. Mark says:

    I think I might have to try this recipe soon. I love pie as well! And the pate sucree looks like something I might like as well. I’ll let you know when I attempt this.

Leave a Reply

